District Home



The Denton ISD Citizens’ Advisory Committee members were selected through board member and staff nominations to ensure there was a diverse cross-section of the Denton ISD community. Members include parents, non-parents, campus staff, community and business members and a mix of backgrounds and geographic representation.

On September 12, 2017, the Denton ISD Board of Trustees took formal action at its board meeting to approve the committee members and their charge.

committee members

The purpose of the 2017 Citizens’ Advisory Committee is to provide facility, equipment and infrastructure recommendations to the Denton ISD Board of Trustees after analyzing a district-wide facilities assessment, enrollment projections, financial data, results of a community survey, and other data relevant in creating and maintaining learning environments that align with the district’s mission, vision and goals.

Tammie Palasota

Susan Parker

Gary Peppers

David Piccolo

Todd Price

Anita Reeves

James Renfro

Kevin Roden

Becky Rodriguez

Rudy Rodriguez, Sr.

Bud Sasser

Greg Sawko

Dr. Elizabeth Seymour

Christi Shiflett

Randi Skinner

Teresa Starrett

Molly Tampke

Mike Vance

J.D. Walker

Jeff Williams

Michael Woods

Carissa Acker

Lizzy Asbury

Gina Anderson

Lauren Baccus

Catherine Bell

Georgianne Burlage

John Cabrales

Dr. Happy Carrico

Kari Conner

Cameron Cox

Ray Croff

Tim Crouch

Mariella Cudd

Suzanne Danhof

Mike Donnelly

Lyle Dresher

Tiffany Eaglin

Sheryl English

Larry Fisher

Kathryn Flores

Hope Galloway

Dr. Larry Gilbert

Karen Goff

Laquita Harmon

Robert Insley

Sam Kelley

Kathy Lawson

Anita Martinez-Strickland

Karen McDaniels

Wendy McGee

Bryon Mecham

Beena Momin

Nancy Murphy-Chadwick

Luke Olson

Efren Olvera

committee Co-chairs: Jeff Williams & Lauren Baccus

Committee co-chairs, Jeff Williams and Lauren Baccus, will lead committee meetings and facilitate large group discussion to ensure the committee:


  • Remains focused on the purpose and charge of the group
  • Stays on task with the intentionality of making sound data-informed decisions
  • Ensure all ideas and/or positions are able to be shared in an open environment of trust
  • Seeks to build consensus as defined by the group members


Sub-committees have been established to give committee members time to effectively assess, review
and potentially development recommendations in a wide variety of areas across the district.
The sub-committees and the group leaders are as follows:

Susan Parker


Elementary Schools
Molly Tampke


Secondary Schools Mike Vance


Extracurricular Programs
Tim Crouch


Special Programs
Nancy Murphy-Chadwick


Kevin Roden



  • Assess and prioritize the district’s current and long-term facility needs, including, but not limited to:

    • District growth and capacity
    • Building age, safety and condition
    • Land acquisition
    • Evolving educational delivery and programs
    • Energy efficiency and sustainable features
  • Develop and prioritize potential projects, including new construction, renovations/additions, technology, and other areas that may arise from community input
  • Consider the educational needs of all students and align recommendations with the district’s mission, vision and goals
  • Represent the entire school district community, values and perceptions, and seek input from other residents
  • Consider the district’s current financial position and funding methods to develop a recommendation that is fiscally sound
  • Make a recommendation to the Board of Trustees that addresses the district’s growth and facility needs based on the Committee’s identified priorities